ERMA THE GREETER IS GREETED BY THE GROUND.

ERICKSON: Clearly no one cared to gather, did they?

WINNIFRED: I’m sorry Father, I told everyone at the store…

ERICKSON: Don’t trouble yourself, Winnifred. You’re here and that is all that matters.

WINNIFRED: But this is disgraceful. Don’t you find this disgraceful?

ERICKSON: A little, yes. But at the end of the day, we are only responsible for doing our part.

WINNIFRED: Then what’s my part Father? I have a feeling I overstepped my bounds with this mess.

ERICKSON: Did you care about Erma?

WINNIFRED: Yes, of course! That’s why this is so disappointing. I don’t even know why we’re even putting her ashes in the ground.

ERICKSON: Is this not what she wanted? I thought you were following her wishes.

WINNIFRED: Did you have any conversations with her on Sundays? After mass?

ERICKSON: I’m certain we spoke plenty of times–

WINNIFRED: –Because she was there every sunday.

ERICKSON: And as I mentioned to you, we spoke plenty. I understand what you’re asking and I will tell you: it is unfounded remorse, what you are feeling.

WINNIFRED: Oh Father, I wish we could wrap this feeling in a bow and call it remorse.

ERICKSON: I apologize for offering my support.

WINNIFRED: Please don’t. You’re in the right to correct me. This is not my affair. I am only here to pay my respects. Even if I am the only one, I should not be glorified for taking the time to show up. Though I must say, I appreciate you taking the time to show up on short notice.

ERICKSON: I am merely a servant, Winnifred. We are on the same boat, so there will be no glorifying me either.

WINNIFRED: This is awful, can we place the urn in the ground already?

ERICKSON: I will follow your lead.

WINNIFRED: Coming from a priest, I find that horribly distasteful.

ERICKSON: Winnifred to be honest, you have been distasteful all afternoon.

WINNIFRED: Excuse me?

The priest takes the urn from the cremation table and puts it in the ground.

WINNIFRED (CONT’D): Father Erickson, what are you doing?!

ERICKSON: May the love of God and the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ bless and console us and gently wipe every tear from our eyes: in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

He starts to leave.

WINNIFRED: Father! Father Erickson don’t you leave, do you hear?!

ERICKSON: Go home, Winnifred. She won’t hold it against you.

Winnifred lingers, even after he’s nowhere to be seen.

END.

#creativespringboard

Leave a Reply

