Coming up next, a brand new play!

Happy to announce our play #minortrends will be opening next week!

My good friend Ashley graciously granted me an opportunity to write for her students at Pine Bluffs. The play we collaborated on sheds light on the positive and negative aspects of social media, as seen through the eyes of teenagers at Pine Bluffs. Using input from the students themselves, we set out to make a play that is uniquely Pine Bluffs and a specific portrayal of situations these students experience day in and day out. As someone who comes from that generation that lived the analog to digital transition, I am fascinated by how the rules of communication have changed. I can barely fathom the new apps younger generations are using to redefine social interaction, I didn’t even have a cellphone until I was in college! But I’m certain one thing hasn’t changed for the kids in the classroom: and that is the need to find a place of their own, a community (online or off), and the desire to acquire the tools that will help them reach their goals.

Writing theater for young adults has personally benefited me in a profound way. Though I wear many hats, I feel most like a playwright when my love for the stage and its educational potential reach the page together. As we near the premiere, I know the students performing this work will do a tremendous job and will give Pine Bluffs an engaging experience to talk about.

If you’re in the Cheyenne/Pine Bluffs area, go check it out!

Performances will be held in the PBHS Commons both Friday, May 8 and Monday, May 11 at 6:30pm– $6 for adults and $3 for students. This play is PG-13 for content. Parents are warned before bringing their younger children. Content includes dating violence and discussion of suicide.
10801722_10153104586849847_8088670349253096252_n

Leave a Reply

